What is your favorite thing about your job?
”I love construction – seeing our ideas and designs becoming reality is always an exciting moment in the life of a project. There are new challenges that come up every day, which makes the work interesting, and is a great learning experience in problem solving.

It is also incredibly rewarding to see how excited the client and the users are about their new facilities. They go through design meetings with us for months, and then to see their reactions when they finally get to use the space we created is amazing.”

How did you choose your profession?
”Growing up, when we would go on vacation, I was always taking pictures of buildings and loved learning architecture history. On Sunday afternoons, my dad and I would sneak into homes while they were under construction to check out the floor plans. I think I always had an interest in architecture, but I don’t think I really knew I wanted to be an architect until I chose it as my major.”

  • AIA, NCARB
  • Registered Architect | KS
  • Education: Bachelor of Environmental Design, Texas A&M University
    Master of Architecture, University of Kansas

Who inspires you? (leader, mentor, family, famous architect, etc.)
”My dad – I don’t think I’ve ever heard him complain about anything. He sees the positive side of every situation and tells the best (or worst?) dad jokes to lighten any mood.”

What are your hobbies outside of work?
”I love to travel! I love music and going to concerts, spending time with family and friends.

I’m a huge sports fan – I love watching football, baseball & college basketball. I try to get to as many Texas A&M games as I can every year. I am also an avid fantasy footballer and started the ACI Boland League.”

What’s the best advice you’ve ever received?
”Make it a great day or not, the choice is always yours. “

If ACI Boland was to open a new office anywhere in the world, where would you want to relocate?
”Dream location – Italy or somewhere in Europe. Realistically – I would love to have an office in Austin, Texas to be closer to my family.”

What’s your top bucket list item, and have you completed it?
”I studied abroad in Italy for a semester in college, and that is hard to beat! I’ve also been to France, England, Ireland, Spain, Austria, and several trips to Mexico.

Remaining on my bucket list? Travel the world! …And a trip to the Super Bowl!”

How are you involved in the community? Are you passionate about any organizations/charities?
”Recently, I was a mentor for Girl Scouts Cookie Construction, which is an awesome six-month program that teams up designers with Girl Scouts to teach them more about our profession. Another one of my favorite volunteer activities through the office is the Boys and Girls Club We Care event. Offices around the metro come together with crafts for the kids to do so they have Christmas presents to give to their family. I worked for Boys and Girls Clubs for several years while I was in school and it’s an organization near and dear to my heart.”

Leave a Reply